SLAM! Sports SLAM! Wrestling
  Dec 5, 1999

News & Rumours
Canadian Hall of Fame
WrestleMania 31
WrestleMania 31 photos
Movie Database
Minority Mat Report
Results Archive
PPV Reviews
SLAM! Wrestling store
On Facebook
On Twitter
Send Feedback

Photo Galleries

SHIMMER taping (now both days!)

Cauliflower Alley Club reunion

Smackdown in Fresno

Raw in San Jose

WrestleMania 31: Main Events

WrestleMania 31: First Half Matches

WWE Hall of Fame


READER ALERT: For all the latest wrestling happenings, check out our News & Rumours section.

Kobashi & Akiyama win All Japan Tag Tourney


All Japan Pro Wrestling's annual Real World League Tag-Team tournament concluded Friday in Tokyo as Kenta Kobashi and Jun Akiyama defeated Stan Hansen and Akira Taue in the finals.

A reported crowd of 16, 300 fans packed Tokyo's Nippon Budokan Hall as Kobashi and Akiyama claimed the victory when Akiyama pinned Taue with an exploder brain-buster to score the pin at 20:15.

This was the second year in a row Kobashi and Akiyama won the tournament. Last year they defeated Vader and Stan Hansen in the finals.

The annual tournament is the most prestigious in Japanese wrestling, dating back more than 20 years. Each year, teams compete in a round-robin tournament with the top two point getters meeting each other in the finals.

By having Akiyama score the pin in the finals, All Japan booker Mitsuhara Misawa is hoping to give the youngster a renewed push and perhaps a title run with All Japan Triple Crown Heavyweight champion Vader.

1977 Terry and Dory Funk Jr
1978 Giant Baba and Jumbo Tsuruta
1979 Terry and Dory Funk Jr
1980 Giant Baba and Jumbo Tsuruta
1981 Bruiser Brody and Jimmy Snuka
1982 Terry and Dory Funk Jr
1983 Bruiser Brody and Stan Hansen
1984 Jumbo Tsuruta & Genichiro Tenryu
1985 Stan Hansen & Ted DiBiase
1986 Jumbo Tsuruta & Genichiro Tenryu
1987 Jumbo Tsuruta & Yoshiaki Yatsu
1988 Stan Hansen & Terry Gordy
1989 Stan Hansen & Genichiro Tenryu
1990 Steve Williams & Terry Gordy
1991 Steve Williams & Terry Gordy
1992 Mitsuhara Misawa & Toshiaki Kawada
1993 Mitsuhara Misawa & Kenta Kobashi
1994 Mitsuhara Misawa & Kenta Kobashi
1995 Mitsuhara Misawa & Kenta Kobashi
1996 Toshiaki Kawada & Akira Taue
1997 Toshiaki Kawada & Akira Taue
1998 Kenta Kobashi & Jun Akiyama

OTHER JAPAN NEWS: New Japan Pro Wrestling has announced the line up for their annual January spectacular at the Tokyo EggDome. In the main event, IWGP Heavyweight champion Keiji Mutoh (Great Muta) defends against Masa Chono. WCW star Bill Goldberg will make his Japanese debut, squaring off against Rick Steiner. Chris Benoit will also work on the card taking on Hiroshi Tenzan. Other matches of note see Scott Norton take on Don Frye, Jushin Liger vs Koji Kanemoto, Shinjiro Otani & Tatsuhito Takaiwa defend the IWGP Jr. Tag titles against Kendo Ka Shin and Minoru Tanaka of the Battlearts promotion and Kensuke Sasake vs Genichiro Tenryu. The scheduled match between Atsuhi Onita and Riki Choshu has been axed for the time being. No word yet if Naoya Ogawa will work the event.