SEARCH 2000 Games


Australian States and Territories

Queensland, also known as "Australia's Holiday State" and "The Sunshine State", is in northeast Australia. The Gold Coast, home to Surfers Paradise, is a 30-km stretch of beaches, man-made waterways and mountain trails and is a popular destination for tourists. Also popular are the Sunshine Coast's beaches, resorts and national parks, and The Great Barrier Reef. The climate in Queensland is tropical in the north and temperate in the south. The state capital, Brisbane, is home to about one million people.

New South Wales is located in Australia's southeast corner and its capital, Sydney, is home to the 2000 Olympic Games. Sydney is Australia's largest city with a population of 3.5 million. The first European settlers landed in Sydney. New South Wales is also home to the famous Hunter Valley Wineries and many popular beaches.

Australian Capital Territory is a small area surrounded by New South Wales. It was established in 1911 as the site of the federal capital, Canberra. Canberra, a city of about 300,000 people, is home to the national Parliament, Library, Court and War Memorial.

Victoria, known as the Garden State, is located in southeast Australia and is the smallest mainland-state. Despite its small size, Victoria is the second most populated state. Melbourne, the state capital and second largest city in Australia, hosted the 1956 Olympic Summer Games. Melbourne is also famous for other sporting events, including Aussie Rules Football, horse races such as The Melbourne Cup, and cricket matches.

Tasmania, the smallest state, is a group of islands off the coast of southeast Australia. The main island is also called Tasmania and is home to the capital, Hobart, a city of about 700,000 people.

South Australia was established by a private Colonization Commission and was not populated by the convicts that were brought to Australia from England in the 1700s and 1800s. Adelaide is the capital of South Australia and home to the Adelaide Festival, an internationally recognized showcase for the arts.

Western Australia, Australia's largest state, is about the size of Western Europe and covers one-third of Australia. Most of its residents live in the coastal capital, Perth. Perth, the most isolated city of its size in the world, has a population of about one million people.

Northern Territory is more than twice the size of France but has a population of only 200,000. Apart from the polar ice cap, the territory is the most sparsely populated area in the world. The famous rock, Uluru, is in the territory. The state capital, Darwin, was devastated for the third time in 1974 when a large cyclone hit and destroyed 90 per cent of the city's buildings. It was also devastated after a cyclone in 1897 and after the Japanese bombing in 1942. Each time it has been rebuilt.

   The Culture:


   Aboriginal culture


   Food & Drink

   Music, Art, Pop

   Wine Regions

   Food Companion

   The Land:


   States & Territories



   The People:



   Aussie Slang