Credit: Olympic Co-ordination Authority
The Regatta Centre, built on the site of a former sand and gravel quarry, is the result of extensive restoration works by the Penrith Lakes Development Corporation. The course layout was created by O'Hanlon Design in association with the international rowing federation, FISA. The NSW Government's Olympic Co-ordination Authority delivered the $36 million project in stages. Competition facilities opened in March 1996, and the new pavilion completed in October 1997 added comfortable spectator facilities.
The 2300 metre competition course, with consistent five metre depth, rock-coated wave-absorbing banks and picturesque surrounding trees, is designed to ensure fair competition. It accommodates nine lanes for rowing or twelve for canoeing.
A unique feature is the 1500 metre warm-up lake, allowing competitors to practice while a race is in progress.
Over 30,000 spectators can be accommodated by the pavilion and the public areas along both sides of the competition course.
A 1000 seat pavilion offers spectacular views over the rowing course. Its features include retractable seating and roofing.