slam skiing speed figure hockey bobsled luge curling biathlon canoe SLAM!  NAGANO
SLAM! Nagano SLAM! Nagano Events SLAM! Nagano Schedules SLAM! Nagano Columnists SLAM! Nagano Photo Gallery SLAM! Nagano Team Canada SLAM! Nagano History SLAM! Nagano Medals SLAM! Nagano Results SLAM! Nagano News  LINEUP
biathlon bobsled curling figskating hockey_women hockey_men luge nordiccombined skialpine skifree skijump skixcountry speedskate shorttrack snowboard SLAM!  NAGANO

  • Hockey
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Football

    CANOE SLAM! Sports Jam! Showbiz CNEWS Money ALSO ON CANOE
  • HELP


  • canada sked medal results SLAM!  NAGANO

    Friday, December 12, 1997

    Canadian wins World Cup snowboard event

     WHISTLER, B.C. (CP) -- Mark Fawcett of Saint John, N.B., won his first World Cup snowboard race this year, capturing a super giant slalom event on Thursday.
     The 25-year-old was timed in one minute 2.15 seconds.
     Nicholas Conte of France finished second in 1:02.55. He was awarded the yellow bib signifying his position as the current World Cup points leader.
     Jasey-Jay Anderson of Val-Morin, Que., was third in 1:02.66.
     Whistler's Ross Rebagliatti, who finished third in last year's World Cup snowboard standings, was disqualified after missing a gate.
     In the women's race, Americans Sondra Van Ert and Betsy Shaw finished one-two. Van Ert was timed in 1:07.36, Shaw in 1:09.34.
     Karine Ruby of France, the current World Cup points leader, was third in 1:09.85.
     The men and woman have giant slalom races today.
     WHISTLER, B.C. (CP) -- World Cup super-giant slalom snowboard results Thursday:
     1. Mark Fawcett, Saint John, N.B., One minute 2.15 seconds; 2. Nicola Conte, France, 1:02:55; 3. Jasey Jay Anderson, Val Morin, Que., 1:02:66; 4. Thedo Remmelink, Netherlands, 1:02:86; 5. Siegfried Grabner, Austria, 1:02:88; 6. Jefff Greenwood, U.S., 1:02.91; 7. Steve Persons, U.S., 1:03.52; 8. Richard Richardson, Sweden, 1:03.66; 9. Christopher J. Klug, U.S., 1:03.67; 10. Harald Walder, Austria, 1:03.94.
     1. Sondra Van Ert, U.S., One minute 7.38 seconds; 2. Betsy Shaw, U.S., 1:09.34; 3. Karine Ruby, France, 1:09.85; 4. Manuela Riegler, Austria, 1:10.28; 5. Leslee Olson, U.S., 1:10.33; 6. Lidia Trettel, Italy, 1:10.89; 7. (tie) Christine Rauter, Austria and Isabelle Blanc, France, 1:11.05; 9. Dagmar Mair U.D. Eggen, Italy, 1:11.39; 10. Ursula Fingerlos, Austria, 1:11.51.